“Best Friends”

One time, when I was in Elementary; I saw a movie with a guy and a girl who call themselves “best friends”
I saw how they tease each other in Kindergraten
I saw how they fought and made up in High School
And I saw how they held hands just 2 months after their College graduation.
And I thought to myself I want to have that kind of friendship with a guy.
But deep down I know It would be hard for someone who’s awkward and shy.

High School came and I met this guy who made fun of me
Who keeps on mocking me for liking One Direction
But I let him anyway, because I didn’t care
We were not close, we barely talk unless he would make fun of Harry Styles and I had to defend him
And as time passed by, I found myself deep in a conversation with him one day
I have no idea how it started, nor who started it
It just did.

Turns out that he’s more than what meets the eyes
He’s more than the guy who made fun of me and my favorite boyband
He’s more than my classmate
He’s more than my friend
Because he’s my best friend
Well, at least I thought he was my best friend for a while.

Junior Year came, he told me that he will move somewhere
Somewhere far from me
Somewhere out of my reach
Somewhere, where an Ocean would be something that would separate us
Somewhere, where the Horizon is the only thing that we could see
Somewhere 8,000 miles away from me.

4 years later, College came
The word “best friend” suddenly became more
Than what a “best friend” is supposed to mean
He has different definition for a “best friend” for me
And I have a different definition for a “best friend” for him

I’m somewhere, where the sun would rise
He’s somewhere, where the moon would shine
I would say “Good Morning”
He would say “Good Evening”

Timezone and distance got in our way
Timezone and distance made communicating much harder
Timezone and distance gave us 3AM conversations
Timezone and distance drove us crazy
But Timezone and distance also gave us hope.

Hope that someday, we would be in a same timezone
Hope that someday, we would be in a same land
Communicating wouldn’t be that hard anymore
There wouldn’t be 3AM conversations anymore
Hope that someday, we would meet again.

Hope that someday, I would be able to tell him the meaning of my “best friend”
Hope that someday, I would be able to hell him how I really feel.

 

Previous Blog:

Different Timezones

Leave a Reply

